Turkey Gumbo: On Second Thought

scared-turkey-bird-running_Xy7e7f_LMy kids groan when I say I’m making a recipe I found in the newspaper. So after years of their heckling, I’m more selective about my culinary experiments. No anonymous recipes here. I borrow only from the best.

When I chose these five recipes, I researched the most reliable sources for leftover turkey gumbo recipes. I trust these folks, even though I haven’t cooked every recipe. So save the carcass and all the leftovers because Friday is turkey gumbo time.

Leftover Turkey Gumbo Recipes

I begin with my friends at Greenberg Smoked Turkey in Tyler, Texas. Yes, funny-face-turkey-chicken_m1n1mz_Lthey really are friends and their turkeys are deserving of the world famous label. Their smoked turkey is so delicious it’s rare to have any leftovers. But if you do, http://www.gobblegobble.com/recipes.php#

 

And simple and delicious from Marion, who lives down the street–
“I always make three quarts of brown giblet gravy for Thanksgiving. The next day I reheat the leftover gravy and add 1 can Rotel tomatoes (liquefied in the blender), 2 bay leaves, 1 clove minced garlic, and 1 bag frozen sliced okra. Simmer for about 1-2 hours. Add cut-up leftover turkey, white and dark meats, 1 tablespoon file, and Tony’s Chachere’s Creole seasoning, if needed, and simmer for ten minutes or until hot through and through.”

From Justin Devillier La Petite Grocery in New Orleans. As featured in Garden & Gun magazine, this recipe uses both the leftover turkey bones and scraps.
http://gardenandgun.com/article/day-after-gumbo/page/0/1

Chef Emeril Lagasse makes a turkey stock to use in this gumbo creation.
http://emerils.com/122684/turkey-bone-gumbo

From Chef Frank Brigtsen of Brigtsen’s Restaurant in New Orleans also uses turkey stock and calls for 4 cups of leftover roasted turkey.
http://www.nola.com/food/index.ssf/2014/11/frank_brigtsens_thanksgiving_g.html

Enjoy your leftovers.

Turkey Watching TV

About thegumbodiaries

On the search for the perfect gumbo!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

