Come on y’all, let’s dance

News sources are hinting that Paula Deen will be on ABC's Dancing with the Stars. Photo credit CNN

News sources are hinting that Paula Deen will be on ABC’s Dancing with the Stars. Photo credit CNN

Dancing with the Stars is back in my good graces. I tuned out the past two seasons because the contestants didn’t pique my interest. But rumor has it that Paula Deen will be on the dance floor this season.

Four years ago, Lil’ Romeo (Romeo Miller), musician and dance competitor, described his instant salsa routine with Chelsie Hightower as “salsa gumbo.” I pardon that culture-clash remark because he’s from New Orleans and they mix all sorts of food and words there. He did have some terrific salsa gumbo moves, though. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tcbmdt-qwdc

I expect Paula Deen’s moves to be classy and elegant. The show’s writers will probably throw in some cheesy “butter” remarks, but I hope she won’t be coining food references like salsa gumbo to describe her performance.

She’s had some troubles in the past with public speaking and political correctness. The PC speech monitors bumped her from Food Network when she admitted to a racist remark for a court deposition. For a Halloween segment she costumed as Lucille Ball and appeared for a photo shoot with her son, who dressed as Desi Arnaz (with way too much of a face tan). Someone recently tweeted the old photo to reignite the fire. “Paula Deenism” faux phrases are fodder for parodies, and I admit she does say “y’all” quite often – but almost every person I know says y’all too often.

But I’ll bet my cookware that when Paula puts on a glamourous waltz gown she’ll be so gorgeous and so charming that she’ll win back America’s heart. Some of her words really speak to my heart, though we never see these in the headlines. (from brainyquote.com)

  • “I am living proof that the American dream still exists. It is still alive and well. There is only one trick, you have to be willing to roll up your sleeves and work very, very hard.”
  •  “When it’s said and done, the one thing I want to leave on this earth is hope. I have felt hopelessness, and it’s a terrible feeling. Hopelessness will destroy you. I want to bring hope to other people.”
  • “I’ll keep peace at all cost, even if I choke to death on my tongue.”
  • “I was determined to share my positive approach and not let diabetes stand in the way of enjoying my life.”
  • “I believe that . . . every one of God’s creatures was created equal. I believe that everyone should be treated equal, that’s the way I was raised and that’s the way I live my life.”
  • “I think if you’ve been invited to someone’s house, you eat what they serve you. Even if you leave hungry, you be gracious enough to eat what they’ve prepared.”

So I’ll tune in to Season 21 of Dancing with the Stars on Monday, Sept. 14 if Paula Deen is in the cast. I just hope she doesn’t need her own good-hearted words — “I don’t care what the haters and naysayers say. If they make jokes about me, I’ll laugh because they’ll probably be funny.”

About thegumbodiaries

On the search for the perfect gumbo!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Come on y’all, let’s dance

  1. Danny Skelton says:

    I will join you to see Paula Dean !!! Nice blog & good use of your ability to convey the message.
    Luv You, Danny

    Like

Leave a Reply

