What’s French for . . . ?

Photo from Muppet Wiki. Miss Piggy in Paris.

Photo from Muppet Wiki. Miss Piggy in Paris.

Thanks to Miss Piggy, restaurants and cookbook recipes, I know a wee (or is it oui?) bit of French. But a few French words like roux and filé don’t always end in a gumbo love story with moi.

I had promised to try a gumbo sauce recipe after blogging  about the cookbook that features it in April .

My first mistake was probably using the recipe to jazz up shrimp and grits; gumbo sauce is supposed to be served over pork shoulder (sorry, Miss Piggy), but I needed a good, rich sauce for shrimp and grits.

After two hours shopping and prepping, I finally started cooking. The buttery roux was wonderful. That took 45 minutes. Then for another two hours I cooked and simmered a quart of finely blended peppers, onion and celery and mixed in sausage. Next came pureéd tomatoes, several quarts of chicken broth, a quart of white wine and more cooking. Then I strained the mixture to produce a giant pot of sauce. Fortunately I saved all the goodies I had strained.

Too much of a good thing ruined the gumbo sauce. The recipe calls for 1/4 cup of filé. I was hesitant to add so much, but talked myself into following the recipe. The result was a strong, earthy and woodsy sauce. Too strong, too earthy.

It looked lovely over the shrimp and grits, and our guest was complimentary, but I didn’t like it. Too much filé.

So I treated it like the French down in the bayou treat puldo duck. You cook the duck with a cedar shingle, throw away the duck and eat the shingle.

I threw away most of the gumbo sauce. I took all the strained vegetables and sausage and added chopped ham, leftover shrimp and a can of rotel. I used two spoonfuls of the gumbo sauce instead of filé and – voilà — stirred up a giant pot of jambalaya.

He loves it when she speaks French.

He loves it when she speaks French.

I served it over rice and we all swooned, just like Kermit when Miss Piggy speaks French.

About thegumbodiaries

On the search for the perfect gumbo!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s French for . . . ?

  1. Oh, this entry is as tasty as the outcome. What a “splendid table” you must keep!

    Like

Leave a Reply

