Yard Sale Buy Inspires Gumbo Day Trip

paul-prudhommes-louisiana-kitchen-essential-New-Orleans-Cookbook1My favorite gumbo at a recent cookoff was a variation of a Chef Paul Prudhumme recipe. Today I found hardback copy of Paul Prudhomme’s Louisiana Kitchen when shopping neighborhood garage sales. I offered a dollar, but the seller refused. She wanted $2.

I hesitated and flipped through the book. I found an entire chapter labeled Gumbos, Soups & Stews. It includes a few wild gumbo recipes like seven-steak and okra along with traditional seafood gumbos. When I saw his recipe for Turtle Soup, I bought the book for full price. My grandmother used to make Turtle Soup with turtle eggs floating around in the broth. I never ate her soup, and I’m not going to make it, but that recipe tugged at my heart strings  and released my purse strings.

The original sticker reads $19.95 and it’s valued online between $12 and $20. But most of all, my online research shows that Paul Prudhomme is still kicking and still cooking.

Photo from www.ChefPaul.com

Photo from www.ChefPaul.com

His 200-seat restaurant, K-Paul’s Louisiana Kitchen on Chartres Street in the French Quarter in New Orleans, posts its menu online daily. Today for lunch it’s chicken and andouille gumbo. I could try turtle soup for dinner, then dine on eggplant shrimp pirogue, and end with sweet potato pecan pie.

From now on when I turn on my computer in the morning, I’m checking the menu. If I leave my house around 7:3Little Gumbo book0 a.m., I can make it to K-Paul’s Louisiana Kitchen for lunch and stay for dinner.

In between bowls of gumbo I can run over to the Maple Street  Bookshop and see if they have a copy of The Little Gumbo Cookbook. It has 27 gumbo recipes!

About thegumbodiaries

On the search for the perfect gumbo!
This entry was posted in Dear Diary (Gumbo Experiences)... and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Yard Sale Buy Inspires Gumbo Day Trip

  1. Dianne Veith says:

    There are gumbo shops in the french quarter . You are returning to your roots when you lived in new orleans . Sorry we are still not tnere. We really like it here in pa. Dan doesn’t like the snow but we get to see the kids more often . Come on up and bring the grandkids to veiw the history here.

    Like

    • What’s the favorite food up there? I really want to visit y’all. Happy Anniversary

      Like

      • Dianne Veith says:

        Most of the resturants serve italian many pizza places which also have other italian dishes. Would like to find a french resturant or a good sea food place . We have a big plac. Richard has his room here since he comes in about 2x a monyth. Both kids will be here the end of the month. Be waiting to hear from you

        Like

      • After I wrote you, I remembered Philly cheese steak, but I’d much rather have Italian! Enjoy the treat of both the kids being there — it’s rare we have all 3 here. Shannon just finished his PhD at Univ. of Wisconsin and is off to teach theatre at Kansas State in Manhattan, KS. He & Gretchen have 2 kids and his in-laws live in Manhattan, KS so they’ll finally be near grandparents. Hello to Dan.

        Like

  2. Scott says:

    I find it charming that you bought that cookbook for sentimental reasons, having never eaten your grandmother’s turtle soup! And I applaud you for considering turtle soup for dinner–like me, you seem eager to try any cuisine just once!

    Like

  3. Tookie Keener says:

    At my age, those little memories that tug on your heart strings are Precious. My brother requested that I teach him to make Mother’s eggplant goulash. When I spooned the first bite in my mouth, the memories washed over me. Nice!

    Like

Leave a Reply

