Gumbo Beach Experience

The poet Judyth Hill says if you’re late, it’s doesn’t matter, because it’s your experience and it starts when you get there. (I think she’s paraphrasing another writer, but I missed that part of my workshop experience with her). So, yesterday — right after the rain cleared — my Gumbo cookoff experience began as I tuned to NPR and lo and behold it was Lucy Buffett live from Biloxi talking about roux! What a  way to start my experience at the annual Rotary Gumbo Cookoff. I couldn’t wait to taste the dozens of simmering gumbos. Due to municipal construction, the site of the Cookoff was moved from a tree-shaded park to the sandy beaches by the Sound. Dining on gumbo on the beach – it can’t get any better than that. Plus, the entries taasted better than ever. Extra credit goes to the two entries who served their recipes topped with little green onions. Some added alligator sausage (so they say) while others added Andouille sauge, duck, turkey, chicken, or combinations of oysters, scallops, shrimp and crawfish. I parted with $5 to vote for my favorite team’s gumbo for People’s Choice Award, but I’m not telling who because that’s where my experience tells me the “secret” ballot is a very good thing in a small town.

About thegumbodiaries

On the search for the perfect gumbo!
This entry was posted in Dear Diary (Gumbo Experiences)... and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gumbo Beach Experience

  1. Scott says:

    It was great meeting Judyth Hill on the 20th–she is one of the most inspiring people I’ve ever met!

    Like

  2. Sandy says:

    Gumbo on the beach! You said it: it doesn’t get any better than that–unless they followed it up with strawberry shortcake or key lime pie! Yum!

    Like

Leave a Reply

