Busy playing for gumbo –

I Will Play for Gumbo. Revelers riding the Parrothead Krewe float in Krewe of Wrecks Mardi Gras Parade at Pensacola Beach, Feb. 19, 2012. The float features key lines from Jimmy Buffett songs.
About thegumbodiaries

On the search for the perfect gumbo!
This entry was posted in Dear Diary (Gumbo Experiences)... and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Busy playing for gumbo –

  1. Scott says:

    I recently had the gumbo at the new Pensacola location of Wintzell’s Oyster House–and it was divine! Have you tried theirs?

    Like

    • I’m so sad they’ve closed. I’ll hve to travel to Orange Beach or Spanish Fort — all the way to Alabama for gumbo!

      Like

      • Scott says:

        I know–my parents took me to dinner there on the 25th for my birthday. The food was excellent, and so was the service. So when I heard they’d closed that weekend I was shocked. I contacted the management, and asked why that location had been closed. I was told that sales never returned to original volumes after the oil spill. Then I remembered the Pensacola location opened in 2010, just before the spill. I still haven’t been to the beach since the oil spill–it’s so overwhelming and distressing. And it’s impact is far from over. What infuriates me most is that, not only is offshore drilling being allowed to continue in the Gulf, but that BP is being allowed to resume! Things like this make me want to say, “God curse America!”

        Like

Leave a Reply

