Best Christmas invitation ever

I was so excited about our first invitation to the post-Christmas parade party at a friend’s house that I could barely concentrate on the parade. The dogs in Christmas attire, bands and twirlers were just a blur. All I could think about was the party menu. The hostess, a native of Louisiana, is a former caterer and I’ve had her crawfish pie (it will brings tears of joy to your eyes).  Last year she served gumbo, and I heard she was serving gumbo again. My mouth watered just thinking about her signature dishes. Everyone had told me how much I would love her gumbo — it has that savory peanut flavor that I like. The suspense was killing me when I entered her house. It didn’t smell like gumbo at all, but surely that was the scented Christmas candles masking the flavor of roux.  There was food everywhere — crudities, dips, desserts, bread pudding fresh out of the oven with sauce, and  two big pots simmering on the stove top. One contained a delicious okra-corn-green bean soup. Next to it were tasty mini-muffaletta sandwiches. But, my friends, there was no gumbo in pot number two. Under that lid simmered delicious jambalaya, but sadly no gumbo. Even without gumbo, it was great fun and marvelous food. I wish I had just one signature dish and could throw a party like that. Here’s hoping we get an invitation next year. In the meantime, I’ve got a whole year to think about how good her gumbo must be.  Any ideas for a signature dish for me?

About thegumbodiaries

On the search for the perfect gumbo!
This entry was posted in Dear Diary (Gumbo Experiences).... Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

