Blessed be the Oyster

 

I knew these guys would win as soon as I tasted their gumbo -- and they didn't need oysters to do it. Note the drawbridge in the top right hand corner of the picture.

Three Men and a Pot performed the miracle of the gumbo in the shadow of the draw bridge behind St. Margaret’s Catholic Church in Bayou La Batre, Alabama, on Sunday, May 1.  They were one of nine teams competing in the Blessing of the Fleet’s gumbo cook off, and they captured the coveted People’s Choice Award for their dark roux gumbo. They faced stiff competition because cooks in Bayou La Batre are serious about their gumbo. No fillers like corn, carrots or potatoes – just the good stuff like shrimp, crab and andouille sausage.

For $10, it was the ultimate gumbo all-you-can-eat buffet. Three Men and a Pot earned my vote, but I also salute The Smoke Shack team for their shrimp, chicken and oyster gumbo. I don’t usually eat oysters, but the wonderful salty flavor the oysters created in their gumbo reminded me of my grandmother’s gumbo. And then I remembered how my dad and the men in the family would shuck oysters on top of plywood and sawhorse makeshift tables in my grandmother’s backyard late into the night. Biting into an oyster was well-worth that memory.

About thegumbodiaries

On the search for the perfect gumbo!
This entry was posted in Dear Diary (Gumbo Experiences).... Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blessed be the Oyster

  1. Scott says:

    Amen! I love oysters, “fried, stewed, and nude” (as Wintzell’s Oysterhouse slogan goes)–and especially smoked! I’ve always loved them! It seems so strange that this bottom feeder, much of whose meat is what it’s eaten at the bottom, can be so delicious–but it is!

    Like

Leave a Reply

