Progressive gumbo

Has anyone been to Jazz Gumbo in Pensacola? I’m not too big a fan of jazz, or rather I should say progressive jazz. I think that’s the one that never seems to end – it just goes on and on and on. But, I’ve been intrigued by the Calendar of Events listing for Jazz Gumbo. According to their website, the Jazz Society of Pensacola’s monthly event features a “delicious mix of various ingredients giving a wonderful effect,” hence the name “gumbo.” And, the $10 admission also includes a cup of seafood gumbo. Now I might can stomach jazz with a good cup of gumbo. If I were a society member it would only cost $7 and if I could squeeze my husband into his old helicopter flight suit, he could go for free. He really likes jazz. Where I’d really like to go is a progressive gumbo event – where they just dish it out, on and on and on . . . without end. That reminds me of the popular progressive dinners from the 1980s . . . cocktails at the first house, appetizers at the next, main course at the third, then a final get-together for dessert. Whatever happened to those? I suspect they were replaced with gourmet dinner clubs.  Well. that’s progress for you.

About thegumbodiaries

On the search for the perfect gumbo!
This entry was posted in Dear Diary (Gumbo Experiences).... Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Progressive gumbo

  1. Scott says:

    I’ve never been to that–I’ll have to check it out!

    With the exception of Dixieland (which I absolutely love), I’m not a big fan of jazz either. It is okay as background music, though.

    I’ve always envisioned a cultural singles bar–at which classical music (Western and Eastern) is played, classic art is displayed, and women welcome literary opening-lines from men (like Rumi’s poem, “Come to the garden in spring. There is wine, and sweethearts in the pomegranate blossoms. If you do not come, these do not matter. If you do come, these do not matter.”)! Of course, there wouldn’t be much dancing, since classical isn’t usually arranged for it–but there’d be better things to do!

    Like

Leave a Reply

