Gumbo-to-Go

For years we’ve joked about opening a Gumbo Shack, and what better place than Gulf Breeze or Pensacola Beach? When the snow cone stand and crawfish barn opened, we were encouraged. We even did a slow drive-by to check out a carnival food trailer for sale. The thought’s always in the back of our minds. Imagine pulling off the highway for a quick cup of gumbo-to-go.

I think someone has swiped our idea! Early this morning, on the way to a hospital warehouse sale, I spotted a “gumbo shack” located at the intersection of Johnson and Ely Road near old Ellison Air Field in what is now a busy industrial area.

The yellow & red sign reads gumbo

Of course it’s not a genuine gumbo shack – the menu’s much too elaborate with mullet and shrimp on Fridays. He wasn’t serving breakfast, but I did pause to snap a photo and ponder a bit. I wonder if he’s offering franchises. But would I really want a gumbo shack? After watching way too many episodes of Gordon Ramsey restaurant shows, I doubt it. What I actually want is a good steaming cup of gumbo on demand. Definitely not a premise for a business plan. But, then I could spice up the menu with jambalaya, dirty rice and etouffee’ which the competition doesn’t to offer.

About thegumbodiaries

On the search for the perfect gumbo!
This entry was posted in Dear Diary (Gumbo Experiences).... Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gumbo-to-Go

  1. Scott says:

    Ohh–I couldn’t handle operating a business of any kind, it’s too demanding! However, if I could–and I had as much interest in gumbo as you–I would “beat” the “competition” by specializing in gumbo only! And I’d serve as many types/recipes of gumbo as possible–including only crackers and beverages on the side! Further, my business would have an advantage: Since gumbo’s warm/hot, it would mainly attract customers in the off season–particularly “snowbirds”! Just an idea–if you can dream it you can do it! Good luck–and let me be one of your first customers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

