Gumbo DNA

My great-great grandmother was full-blooded Choctaw, and she taught my great-grandmother who taught my grandmother to make filé from the leaves of the sassafras tree. Filé runs in my blood – just like gumbo.

Gumbo is a Creole dish, and like the Creole people, it’s a blend. Gumbo melds the flavors of African, Spanish, French and Choctaw. From the French comes the roux, flavored with the Spanish Holy Trinity (onions, bell pepper and celery) and a touch of African okra. But what makes the robust, distinctive flavor of gumbo is the filé – which comes from the Choctaw. It’s the Choctaw who first picked the sassafras leaves, dried them and ground them to create filé . So, if you get right down to it, gumbo is an American culinary creation – just like apple pie and cornbread. But you can’t mess with certain things in gumbo – that’s unAmerican.

When Bamboo Willie’s on Pensacola Beach hosted a benefit Gumbo Cookoff yesterday, only two entries showed up — Hemingway’s Island Grill and Frank & Lola’s at Margaritaville. But with these two, no other entries need apply. The competition was fierce and the flavors definitely distinctive. I had to eat two bowls of each to decide which I preferred.

Hemingway’s gumbo was sweet and filled with well-cooked okra, tomatoes, and lots of seafood and served over seasoned brown rice. I still can’t pinpoint which Caribbean spice flavored it, but it was somewhere between cinnamon and all spice, and the tasty combination was sweet, yet spicy. Frank & Lola’s gumbo was rich in brown roux, and a tad spicy, with a hint of filé, and filled with seafood. However, they left a few crab shells and celery strings when ladling it into the giant Ziploc bags to transport it down the beach for the cookoff. Those celery strings cost Frank & Lola my husband’s vote.  In the end, Husband and I split our votes on the best – he liked the spicy, sweet Caribbean flavor of Hemingway’s while I stood by one of my local favorites, Frank and Lola’s.

 You see, I couldn’t turn my back on my ancestors, I couldn’t vote for gumbo flavored with cinnamon and Caribbean spices – no matter how good it was. Filé runs in my blood.

About thegumbodiaries

On the search for the perfect gumbo!
This entry was posted in Dear Diary (Gumbo Experiences).... Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

